Skip to content
AI Receptionist Report

Head-to-head

Torklio vs Rosie

A full AI front desk at $99 versus the simplest answering service at $49: how much workflow do you actually need, and what does Rosie's cheaper plan leave out?

By Network Editorial Team

Last updated

TK

Torklio

Service businesses that need the call to turn into a booked job

AI front desk for service businesses: phone, web chat, booking and one customer history.

Starting price: $99/mo

Read the Torklio review
RO

Rosie

Owners who want the simplest possible answering setup

Flat-rate AI answering from $49/month; booking and transfers on the Scale plan.

Starting price: $49/mo

Read the Rosie review

Decision summary

Rosie is for owners who want the phone answered and a message delivered with nothing to configure, and at $49 a month for 250 minutes it is half Torklio's entry price. Torklio is for owners who want the call to end in a booked appointment, a graded lead and a customer record, for $99 with 300 minutes. The catch, verified on September 7, 2026, is that Rosie's $49 plan cannot transfer a call or book directly on your calendar; those arrive on its $149 Scale plan with 1,000 minutes. If 'just take a message' describes your need, Rosie's $49 plan is the better deal. If missed bookings are the problem, compare Torklio's $99 against Rosie's $149 and decide whether qualification, grading and web chat are worth $50 less than 700 extra minutes.

Feature differences

Appointment booking

Torklio
Native calendar booking with conflict checks on every plan (verified).
Rosie
Appointment links by text on the $49 plan; direct calendar booking on the $149 Scale plan and above (verified). Conflict checking not stated.

Lead qualification

Torklio
Qualified and graded on every plan (verified).
Rosie
Not described on the pricing page (not independently verified).

Setup

Torklio
Knowledge base and calendar setup recommended.
Rosie
Forward the line and go; two message scenarios on the entry plan.

Website chat

Torklio
Included (verified).
Rosie
Not listed.

Human backup

Torklio
Screened transfers to your team.
Rosie
No human pool; warm and live transfers to your team on Scale and above only (verified).

Call transfers

Torklio
Screened transfers on every plan (verified).
Rosie
None on the $49 plan; warm and live transfers on Scale, waterfall transfers on Growth (verified).

Knowledge base / answering common questions

Torklio
Knowledge base included, with limits of 5 to 15 sources and 20 to 100 documents depending on plan (verified).
Rosie
Custom agent training from your documents is a Growth-plan ($299) feature (verified).

Call recording and transcripts

Torklio
Recording plus transcripts and summaries on every plan; retention by tier (verified).
Rosie
Not mentioned on the pricing page; ask before signing.

SMS follow-up

Torklio
Listed as 'Coming soon' (verified).
Rosie
Appointment links by text on every plan; texts to callers during the call on Scale and above (verified).

Ongoing maintenance

Torklio
Keep the knowledge base, calendar and team list current as the business changes.
Rosie
Little to maintain by design, which is the product's main promise (not independently verified).

Pricing differences

Entry price

Torklio
$99 per month (Starter).
Rosie
$49 per month (Professional).

Included usage at entry

Torklio
300 minutes with booking, screened transfers, qualification, web chat and recordings.
Rosie
250 minutes of message-taking with appointment links by text, spam detection and Zapier; no transfers.

Cheapest plan with direct booking and transfers

Torklio
$99 Starter (300 minutes).
Rosie
$149 Scale (1,000 minutes).

Overage

Torklio
Not published.
Rosie
Not published.

Trial, guarantee and annual terms

Torklio
7-day free trial; 30-day money-back guarantee on the first payment; no annual discount listed.
Rosie
7-day free trial on every plan; two months free on annual billing; no money-back guarantee listed.

Use-case differences

Solo operator on job sites all day

Torklio
Works, with more capability than needed.
Rosie
Strong fit at $49.

Business that books from the phone

Torklio
Strong fit.
Rosie
Needs the $149 Scale plan; the $49 plan only texts a booking link.

Cleaning company that quotes by the visit

Torklio
Grading separates a one-time deep clean from a recurring contract before you call back; see [cleaning](/industries/cleaning).
Rosie
Rosie names cleaning among its fits; you get the message and do the sorting yourself.

Electrician who wants callers screened before a transfer

Torklio
Screened transfers reach the electrician only for calls worth it; see [electrical](/industries/electrical).
Rosie
Warm transfers exist on Scale ($149); the $49 plan takes a message.

Owner testing AI answering for the first month

Torklio
Seven-day trial and thirty-day money-back guarantee keep the risk low (verified).
Rosie
Seven-day trial on every plan and a $49 first month (verified).

Pros and cons

Torklio

Pros

  • Booking, grading, transfers on every plan
  • Web chat included
  • 30-day money-back guarantee

Cons

  • More to configure
  • SMS pending
  • Twice Rosie's entry price

Rosie

Pros

  • Simplest onboarding
  • $49 for 250 minutes
  • In-call texting on Scale
  • Two months free annually

Cons

  • No transfers or direct booking under $149
  • No overage rate published
  • No human backup
  • Zapier only

Which one should you choose?

Choose Torklio if…

  • You lose money when appointments are not booked on the first call.
  • You want callers ranked by value.
  • You want chat and phone in one customer history.
  • You want transcripts and recordings you can review later, with retention you can plan around.

Choose Rosie if…

  • You want the least possible setup and the lowest bill.
  • A message and a callback number is enough.
  • You are testing whether AI answering helps at all before committing.
  • You would rather have 1,000 minutes with transfers for $149 than 300 minutes with grading for $99.

Side by side

TK
Torklio

Service businesses that need the call to turn into a booked job

Starting price
$99/mo
24/7 answering
Yes
Appointment scheduling
Yes
Call transfers
Yes
Human backup
Partial
CRM integration
Partial
Developer access (API)
Verify
Industry specialization
Yes
Test score
Sample only
Review status
Editorial Preview
RO
Rosie

Owners who want the simplest possible answering setup

Starting price
$49/mo
24/7 answering
Yes
Appointment scheduling
Yes
Call transfers
Partial
Human backup
No
CRM integration
Partial
Developer access (API)
No
Industry specialization
No
Test score
Sample only
Review status
Editorial Preview

Not independently verified: based on the provider's public materials or editorial knowledge, not yet checked against a dated source. “Verify” means no data has been entered yet. Test scores appear only when the 10-call challenge has been completed for that provider.

How we compared them

Both sides of this table are verified against the vendors' pricing pages as of September 7, 2026. Torklio's page states its feature set plan by plan. Rosie's page is unusually specific too: it says which plan takes messages, which one books directly, which one transfers, and how many message scenarios each includes. What Rosie's page does not say is whether calls are recorded, whether booking checks for conflicts, or what an extra minute costs, so those rows are flagged. Neither product has been through the lab.

The workflow after the call

On Rosie's $49 plan the workflow after the call is you: the message arrives, the caller may have received a booking link by text, you read it, you decide. There is real value in that for an owner whose day is spent on ladders or under sinks and who wants a clean list of callbacks at lunch. On Rosie's $149 Scale plan the product books directly on your calendar and warm-transfers callers to your team, which closes much of the gap. Torklio's promise is that most callbacks never need to happen because the caller was qualified, graded and booked while the conversation was live, with the transcript and summary filed into a customer history the website chat also feeds. A pest-control route with fixed weekly slots may find Rosie's message plenty; a business quoting three job types with different durations needs the calendar logic Torklio verifies.

Total cost of ownership considerations

Both products are flat-monthly with a seven-day trial. Torklio's tiers are $99, $149 and $249 for 300, 600 and 1,000 minutes, with a thirty-day money-back window on the first payment and no annual commitment. Rosie's are $49, $149 and $299 for 250, 1,000 and 2,000 minutes, with two months free on annual billing. Neither publishes an overage rate. At the entry level Rosie is $50 a month cheaper. At $149, Rosie's Scale plan includes 1,000 minutes with direct booking and transfers, against Torklio's Plus plan with 600 minutes plus grading, web chat and recordings. The hidden cost on Torklio's side is configuration time before the first call; on Rosie's entry plan it is the callbacks themselves, since every message is a task for a human. Count how many calls per week would have been bookable on the spot and decide whether that number justifies the setup hours and the price difference.

What would change this verdict

  • Lab evidence that Rosie Scale's direct booking checks the calendar for conflicts would make it a genuine alternative to Torklio for booking-led businesses at similar prices.
  • Lab evidence that Rosie's message quality is excellent while Torklio's booking makes errors would shift the balance for any business that can tolerate callbacks.
  • Confirmation that Rosie records calls and keeps transcripts would neutralize one of Torklio's edges in the table.
  • Either vendor publishing an overage rate would make heavy months comparable.

The operator of this site also holds a financial interest in Torklio, which is a reason to weigh the setup and callback questions above for yourself rather than taking the table's edges at face value.

Frequently asked questions

Is Rosie cheaper than Torklio?

At the entry level, yes: $49 for 250 minutes against $99 for 300 (verified September 7, 2026). Rosie's $49 plan cannot transfer calls or book directly; its $149 Scale plan can, and includes 1,000 minutes.

Can Rosie book appointments?

On the $49 plan it sends an appointment link by text. On the $149 Scale plan and above it books directly on your calendar. Whether it checks for conflicts first is not stated.

Which is better for a one-person business?

Rosie's $49 plan if messages suffice; Torklio, or Rosie's $149 Scale plan, if you want bookings made while you work.

Does Torklio take much longer to set up than Rosie?

Torklio recommends loading a knowledge base and connecting a calendar first, so yes, there is more to do than forwarding a line. The trade is that the extra setup is what enables booking and grading.

Do either provider offer human receptionists?

Neither uses an outsourced human pool. Torklio transfers screened calls to your own team on every plan; Rosie transfers on Scale and above. For a live person, see Smith.ai.

Sources

  1. Torklio pricing (accessed 2026-09-07)
  2. Rosie pricing (accessed 2026-09-07)