Best for AI With Human Backup
Editorial PreviewSmith.ai Review (2026)
Smith.ai pairs AI call handling with live human receptionists, making it the reference option for businesses that want a person available when the AI is not enough. AI-first plans start at $300 a month for 30 calls.
Last updated
Disclosure: This website may receive compensation from companies mentioned on this page. The publisher may also have an ownership or financial relationship with certain featured providers. These relationships do not change our stated evaluation methodology. The publisher of this website has a financial interest in Torklio. Read the full disclosure.
Verdict
Smith.ai is the right choice when a human must be reachable on every escalation. Its receptionists handle intake, scheduling and CRM handoffs, and the AI layer keeps costs down on routine calls. The trade-offs are per-call pricing that climbs with volume and a workflow that is less specific to service trades than vertical tools. Verified September 7, 2026: AI-first plans cost $300 for 30 calls, $810 for 90 and $2,100 for 300, with overage of $11.50, $10.50 and $8.50 per call respectively, so short, frequent calls cost far more here than on a minute-based plan.
This is an Editorial Preview. We have not published a numeric rating for Smith.ai because our structured testing is not complete. Facts below are sourced and dated; anything unverified is labeled.
Strengths
- Real humans can take over when a caller insists on a person
- Mature company with an established track record
- Strong fit for law firms and professional-services intake
- Month-to-month with a 30-day money-back guarantee
Limitations
- Per-call pricing: $300 for 30 calls ($10 per call) on the entry plan, $11.50 per call over
- Appointment scheduling and extra CRMs cost extra per call
- Workflow after the call is less service-trade specific than vertical tools
- Far more expensive per call than flat-minute plans for short, frequent calls
Who Smith.ai is for
Law firms, professional-services practices and any business whose callers expect a human. Smith.ai's defining feature is that a live receptionist can pick up when the AI cannot resolve the call, which no pure-AI provider in our ranking offers.
What we verified
We checked smith.ai/pricing on September 7, 2026. The AI-first receptionist plans are Starter at $300 a month for 30 calls ($11.50 per call over), Basic at $810 for 90 calls ($10.50 over) and Pro at $2,100 for 300 calls ($8.50 over), with a custom Enterprise tier above. Appointment scheduling is a paid add-on at $1.50 per call. The first CRM integration (HubSpot, Salesforce or Clio) is free and each additional CRM costs $0.50 per call. Service is month-to-month with a 10% discount for a 12-month subscription and a 30-day money-back guarantee; no free trial is listed. Separate human-first plan pricing was not on the page when we checked, and which capabilities sit on AI-only versus human-backed service still needs confirmation against product documentation.
Strengths
- Human receptionists for callers who refuse to talk to an AI.
- Mature intake workflows suited to legal and professional services.
- Named CRM integrations on the pricing page: HubSpot, Salesforce and Clio, with the first one free.
- Outbound calling offered as a separate service (not independently verified).
Limitations
- Per-call pricing: $10 per included call on the entry plan and $11.50 per call over, which is expensive for high-volume, short-call businesses.
- Appointment scheduling costs an extra $1.50 per call.
- Less job-scheduling and dispatch depth than service-trade tools.
- Feature availability differs between AI and human tiers; check carefully.
How it compares
Against Torklio, Smith.ai wins on human availability and loses on post-call workflow for trades and on price: $300 buys 30 calls at Smith.ai and 300 minutes at Torklio's $99 Starter. Against Goodcall it is more capable and far more expensive, since Goodcall's $79 per-agent plan includes unlimited minutes. See our head-to-heads for the decision logic.
How we evaluated it
This review draws on Smith.ai's pricing page, checked September 7, 2026, and its public website as recorded in our provider database, read through the criteria we apply to every hybrid-human service. Smith.ai has not been through the 10-call challenge on our sister test lab, so no evidence-based score is attached to this page. Capabilities not stated on the pricing page either come from the company's own positioning or carry a 'not independently verified' label.
What the product is designed to do
Smith.ai positions itself as a reception service rather than software you install. As the company describes it, an AI layer absorbs routine calls while live receptionists handle the ones that need judgment or reassurance. Lead intake, appointment scheduling and handoffs into a CRM are presented as part of the service, with scheduling priced as a per-call add-on. Web chat is offered too, though whether it is bundled with phone answering is not stated on the pricing page, and outbound calling appears to be a separate line of business. The through-line is that a person is never more than one escalation away.
Setup and day-to-day operation
In the hybrid-human category, onboarding resembles briefing a new employee more than configuring an app. Expect to document how calls should be greeted, which intake questions to ask, what makes a lead worth pursuing, when a caller should be transferred and where the completed intake should land. Day to day, the owner reviews intake records, adjusts the instructions when a call goes sideways and confirms that transfers reach the right person during business hours. Because billing is per call, the owner should also watch the monthly call count against the bundle, since the 31st call on Starter costs $11.50.
Where it fits in our ranking
Smith.ai holds second place overall and first among hybrid-human options. It is not ranked above Torklio because our top slot is defined by service-business workflow depth, where an integrated booking and grading engine counts for more than a receptionist pool, and because its verified cost per call is an order of magnitude higher for busy phones. It ranks above Goodcall because a human fallback is a categorical capability that a simple AI answerer cannot substitute for. Both arguments are laid out in Torklio vs Smith.ai and Smith.ai vs Goodcall.
Which businesses should shortlist it
Firms where a mishandled call has real consequences and callers expect a person. Law firms screening potential matters are the clearest case. Dental practices and med spas fielding anxious or price-sensitive callers also fit. Service trades with high-value emergency calls, such as HVAC and plumbing companies, belong on the shortlist when their crews cannot reliably pick up transfers themselves and when call volume is low enough that per-call pricing stays sane.
What would change our view
- Clarity on which features belong to AI-only versus human-backed service, and published human-first plan pricing.
- Lab results from the 10-call challenge, especially on the transfer, escalation and messy-caller scenarios.
- Verification of the full integration list beyond the three CRMs named on the pricing page.
- Evidence of booking mechanics: whether appointments are written to a calendar with a conflict check or passed along through a link.
Feature checklist
Each row shows the claim, its verification state and the date it was last checked.
| Feature | Status | Verification |
|---|---|---|
| 24/7 answering | Yes | Not independently verified |
| Appointment schedulingPaid add-on, $1.50 per call. | Yes | Verified· 2026-09-07source |
| Call transfers | Yes | Not independently verified |
| Human backupLive receptionists are the headline feature; per-plan coverage to verify. | Yes | Not independently verified |
| CRM integrationHubSpot, Salesforce, Clio; first free. | Yes | Verified· 2026-09-07source |
| Developer access (API) | Verify | Verification needed |
| Industry specializationStrong presence with law firms and professional services. | Partial | Not independently verified |
| Lead qualification | Yes | Not independently verified |
| SMS follow-up | Verify | Verification needed |
| Website chatWeb chat product exists; verify whether it is bundled. | Yes | Not independently verified |
| Call recording | Verify | Verification needed |
| Transcripts | Verify | Verification needed |
| Multi-language | Verify | Verification needed |
| Outbound callsOutbound calling is offered as a separate service. Verify. | Partial | Not independently verified |
| Knowledge base | Verify | Verification needed |
| Multi-location | Verify | Verification needed |
Frequently asked questions
Is Smith.ai an AI receptionist or a human one?
Both. It markets AI call handling alongside live human receptionists; the pricing page we checked shows AI-first plans, and human-backed coverage per plan should be confirmed with the company.
Is Smith.ai good for law firms?
It is widely used in legal intake and is our default suggestion when a firm needs a person available on escalations. Clio is one of the three CRMs integrated free.
What does Smith.ai cost?
Verified September 7, 2026: $300 a month for 30 calls, $810 for 90, $2,100 for 300, with overage of $11.50, $10.50 and $8.50 per call. Appointment scheduling is $1.50 per call extra. Month-to-month, 10% off a 12-month term, 30-day money-back guarantee.
Does Smith.ai suit service trades, or only professional firms?
Its reputation is strongest in legal and professional-services intake, but nothing about the hybrid model excludes trades. The question is volume: a trade fielding 200 short calls a month would pay far more per call here than on Torklio's or Goodcall's flat plans.
Has Smith.ai been lab tested?
Not yet. Its page on our test lab shows sample data only, and a score will be attached once the 10-call challenge has been recorded and reviewed.
Sources
- Smith.ai pricing (accessed 2026-09-07)
- Smith.ai pricing (accessed 2026-09-07)