Head-to-head
Smith.ai vs Goodcall
Human-backed virtual reception at $300 for 30 calls versus a pure AI small-business phone agent at $79 with unlimited minutes.
Last updated
Disclosure: This website may receive compensation from companies mentioned on this page. The publisher may also have an ownership or financial relationship with certain featured providers. These relationships do not change our stated evaluation methodology. The publisher of this website has a financial interest in Torklio. Read the full disclosure.
Smith.ai
Businesses that want human receptionists behind the AI
AI receptionist backed by live human receptionists, priced per call.
Starting price: $300/mo
Read the Smith.ai reviewGoodcall
Small businesses that want a simple setup
Simple AI phone agent for small businesses: unlimited minutes, metered by unique customers.
Starting price: $79/mo
Read the Goodcall reviewDecision summary
Smith.ai is the more capable and far more expensive option, with live receptionists behind the AI. Goodcall is the simpler, AI-only option for owners who want the phone answered without paying for humans. The price gap, verified September 7, 2026, is roughly four to one at entry and widens with volume: Smith.ai's AI-first Starter is $300 for 30 calls with $11.50 per call over and $1.50 per call for scheduling, while Goodcall's Starter is $79 per agent with unlimited minutes for up to 100 unique customers a month and $0.50 each beyond. If callers need to reach a person on escalation and your volume is modest, Smith.ai. If not, Goodcall covers the basics at a fraction of the cost, with the caveats that it keeps only 7 days of call history on Starter and its scheduling depth is not published.
Feature differences
Human backup
- Smith.ai
- Live receptionists (per-plan human coverage not stated on the AI-first pricing page).
- Goodcall
- None.
Intake depth
- Smith.ai
- Scripted human intake, CRM handoffs.
- Goodcall
- Structured AI capture.
Setup
- Smith.ai
- Onboarding with scripts and instructions.
- Goodcall
- Short guided setup.
Billing model
- Smith.ai
- Monthly bundles of calls with per-call overage (verified).
- Goodcall
- Flat monthly per agent, unlimited minutes, metered by unique customers (verified).
Appointment scheduling
- Smith.ai
- Paid add-on at $1.50 per call (verified); mechanics not independently verified.
- Goodcall
- Not described on the pricing page (not independently verified).
Website chat
- Smith.ai
- A web chat product exists; whether it is bundled is not stated.
- Goodcall
- Not recorded in our database.
Outbound calls
- Smith.ai
- Sold as an add-on service, per Smith.ai's positioning (unverified).
- Goodcall
- Not recorded in our database.
CRM integration
- Smith.ai
- HubSpot, Salesforce and Clio named; first free, $0.50 per call per additional CRM (verified).
- Goodcall
- Partial (not independently verified).
Call history and retention
- Smith.ai
- Not stated on the pricing page.
- Goodcall
- 7 days on Starter, 30 on Growth, unlimited on Scale (verified).
Industry specialization
- Smith.ai
- Partial: a strong presence with law firms and professional services.
- Goodcall
- None recorded; general small-business focus.
Ongoing maintenance
- Smith.ai
- Receptionist instructions need updating as offers, hours and staff change.
- Goodcall
- Agent configuration to keep current; fewer moving parts by positioning.
Pricing differences
Entry price
- Smith.ai
- $300 per month (AI-first Starter, 30 calls).
- Goodcall
- $79 per agent per month; $66 billed annually.
What the meter is
- Smith.ai
- Calls: 30 / 90 / 300 per month by plan.
- Goodcall
- Unique customers: 100 / 250 / 500 per month by plan; minutes unlimited.
Overage
- Smith.ai
- $11.50 per call on Starter, $10.50 on Basic ($810), $8.50 on Pro ($2,100).
- Goodcall
- $0.50 per unique customer above the cap.
Add-on fees
- Smith.ai
- Appointment scheduling $1.50 per call; each CRM beyond the first $0.50 per call.
- Goodcall
- No setup or add-on fees listed.
Trial, guarantee and annual terms
- Smith.ai
- No free trial listed; 30-day money-back guarantee; 10% off a 12-month subscription.
- Goodcall
- Free trial (length not stated); no money-back guarantee listed; 15% off billed annually.
Use-case differences
Law firm intake
- Smith.ai
- Strong fit; Clio integrated free.
- Goodcall
- Weak fit.
Single-location retail or service
- Smith.ai
- Works, likely overkill at $10 a call.
- Goodcall
- Good fit.
Dental or med spa practice
- Smith.ai
- Smith.ai lists both among its industries; a human receptionist suits patients who expect one. See [dental](/industries/dental) and [med spas](/industries/med-spas).
- Goodcall
- Goodcall does not name healthcare-adjacent businesses; capture-and-route may be enough for a small practice but is unverified for that setting.
Plumbing company that mostly needs the phone covered
- Smith.ai
- Smith.ai lists plumbing, but 30 calls for $300 is an expensive way to cover simple calls.
- Goodcall
- Goodcall lists plumbing too, and unlimited minutes for $79 suit high volumes of short calls. See [plumbing](/industries/plumbing).
Business that wants outbound follow-up from the same vendor
- Smith.ai
- Outbound is available as a separate service (unverified).
- Goodcall
- No outbound capability recorded.
Pros and cons
Smith.ai
Pros
- Humans available
- Mature intake workflows
- Named CRM integrations
- Outbound services
Cons
- $300 for 30 calls
- $11.50 per call over
- Scheduling costs extra per call
- No free trial listed
Goodcall
Pros
- $79 with unlimited minutes
- Published $0.50 overage
- Fast to launch
- 15% annual discount
Cons
- No humans
- 7-day retention on Starter
- Scheduling not described
Which one should you choose?
Choose Smith.ai if…
- A human must be reachable.
- You need intake scripts and CRM handoffs run by people.
- Your industry expects a receptionist, not a bot, on the first hello.
- Your call count is low enough that $10 or more per call is acceptable.
Choose Goodcall if…
- AI-only is acceptable to your callers.
- You want a low-management setup.
- Your call volume is high and the calls are long or short, since minutes are unlimited.
- Your budget is under $100 a month.
Side by side
| Provider | Best for | Starting price | 24/7 answering | Appointment scheduling | Call transfers | Human backup | CRM integration | Developer access (API) | Industry specialization | Test score | Review status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SMSmith.ai | Businesses that want human receptionists behind the AI | $300/mo | Yes† | Yes | Yes† | Yes† | Yes | Verify | Partial† | Sample only | Editorial Preview |
| GCGoodcall | Small businesses that want a simple setup | $79/mo | Yes† | Partial† | Yes† | No† | Partial† | Partial | No† | Sample only | Editorial Preview |
Businesses that want human receptionists behind the AI
- Starting price
- $300/mo
- 24/7 answering
- Yes†
- Appointment scheduling
- Yes
- Call transfers
- Yes†
- Human backup
- Yes†
- CRM integration
- Yes
- Developer access (API)
- Verify
- Industry specialization
- Partial†
- Test score
- Sample only
- Review status
- Editorial Preview
Small businesses that want a simple setup
- Starting price
- $79/mo
- 24/7 answering
- Yes†
- Appointment scheduling
- Partial†
- Call transfers
- Yes†
- Human backup
- No†
- CRM integration
- Partial†
- Developer access (API)
- Partial
- Industry specialization
- No†
- Test score
- Sample only
- Review status
- Editorial Preview
† Not independently verified: based on the provider's public materials or editorial knowledge, not yet checked against a dated source. “Verify” means no data has been entered yet. Test scores appear only when the 10-call challenge has been completed for that provider.
How we compared them
Both pricing pages were checked on September 7, 2026. For Smith.ai we have the AI-first plan prices, overage, add-ons and terms from smith.ai/pricing, plus its own description: an established virtual receptionist service pairing AI call handling with live North America-based receptionists, strongest with law firms and professional services. For Goodcall we have prices, the unique-customer meter, seats, flows and retention from goodcall.com/pricing, plus its description as an AI phone agent that answers, captures details and routes with a short setup. Neither has completed a lab test, and we have not mapped which Smith.ai features live on AI-only versus human-backed service.
The workflow after the call
A Smith.ai call, as positioned, can end in several ways: the AI resolves it, a human receptionist takes over and runs the intake script, an appointment is placed through your scheduling tool for a $1.50 fee, and the lead is pushed to HubSpot, Salesforce or Clio. A Goodcall call, as positioned, ends with the caller's details captured, a question answered from configured information, or a transfer to someone on your team, with the record kept for 7 days on Starter. The practical gap is the escalation path. Goodcall's last resort is your own staff; Smith.ai's is a paid third party who is there whether or not your team picks up. For a solo owner that is the entire value proposition and the entire cost.
Total cost of ownership considerations
The two billing models push in opposite directions, and now the numbers are on the page. Smith.ai bills by the call: $300 for 30, $810 for 90, $2,100 for 300, with $11.50, $10.50 and $8.50 per call beyond, and $1.50 per scheduled appointment on top. A business taking 100 calls a month on Basic pays $810 plus $105 in overage before scheduling. Goodcall bills per agent with unlimited minutes: $79 for up to 100 unique customers, then $0.50 each, so the same 100 calls from, say, 80 distinct people cost $79. That is roughly an eleven-to-one gap, and it is the price of having a human inside every call. Setup is a cost too: Smith.ai's onboarding involves writing scripts and instructions for people, while Goodcall's is positioned as short and self-serve. Finally, consider what each vendor cannot do for you. Goodcall has no human fallback at any price; Smith.ai has no flat fee that ignores call count.
What would change this verdict
- Smith.ai publishing an AI-only bundle in the same range as Goodcall's entry tier would make Smith.ai the safer default, since the human layer could be added later.
- Lab results in which Goodcall handles an insistent 'I need a person' caller gracefully would soften the human-backup edge.
- Lab results in which Smith.ai's AI tier mis-books or drops calls would push readers who do not need humans firmly toward Goodcall.
- Goodcall documenting its scheduling mechanics would let us compare booking directly rather than by positioning.
Neither company on this page is connected to the publisher of AI Receptionist Report; the publisher does hold a financial interest in Torklio, which is mentioned in the FAQ as an alternative for booking-centric trades.
Frequently asked questions
Does Goodcall have human receptionists?
No. Smith.ai does.
Which is cheaper?
Goodcall, by a wide margin: $79 per agent with unlimited minutes against Smith.ai's $300 for 30 calls and $11.50 per call over (both verified September 7, 2026). Smith.ai's price includes human labor.
Which is better for a service business?
Depends on whether callers need a human. For most trades the cost per call favors Goodcall. Also consider Torklio for booking-centric workflows.
Can I start with Goodcall and move to Smith.ai later?
Nothing prevents it, but you would rebuild your configuration as receptionist instructions and your monthly bill would rise several-fold. Decide up front whether a human fallback is a requirement or a nice-to-have.
Does either offer web chat?
Smith.ai has a web chat product; whether it is bundled with phone plans is not stated on its pricing page. Goodcall has no web chat recorded in our database.
Sources
- Smith.ai pricing (accessed 2026-09-07)
- Goodcall pricing (accessed 2026-09-07)